How can you mend a broken heart?

I’ve just turned on Channel 5 and they are playing a Denzel movie called “Book of Eli”. Denzel is listening to a track by Al Green called “How can you mend a broken heart”. This particular song stops me in my tracks everytime I hear it.

Hard memories hearing that song.

A few days after Elijahs funeral, we decided it was time to pack away the nursery. It was a beautiful sunny day, Gabey was out of the house and it was just the two of us. It had to be done as I crumpled every time I caught sight of the tiny cot mattress he would never lie his beautiful little head on. I could only start healing once this very sad and very tough job was done.

We gently packed away the baby clothes, the tiny socks and the tiny mittens that I would have put on his hands to stop him scratching his face. Then we got the tools out and undid the bolts and screws to take down the beautiful baby cot. As each little piece came down, I felt a little piece of my heart break with it. Watching as my big, brave husband cried taking down the place where his boy was supposed to be spending his nights.

Its one of the saddest moments of my life.

Then once it was done, I put on the iphone and we played this song. Al Green “How can you mend a broken heart”. We held each other and we danced and we cried, as the bright sunlight streamed into the now empty room.

How do you mend a broken heart?

I can’t answer that question but Rolling Stone magazine once said that Al Green was “born to make us smile”. His song, THAT song and the dance we shared together on that day, started us on our path to healing and getting through this together.

If you are hurting, have lost someone, lonely, need healing, put this song on loud and dance and I dance with you. From me (and the Reverend Al Green) with love x

One thought on “How can you mend a broken heart?

Leave a Reply

